QS Study

Sensory Axis

Multiple sensory portions within central nervous system constitute the sensory axis. A sensory system consists of sensory neurons, neural pathways, and parts of the brain involved in sensory observation. Usually recognized sensory systems are those for vision, hearing, touch, taste, smell, and balance. Sensory organs are co-dependent. When, for example, people endure from anosmia (impairment of the sense of smell), the other senses are influenced; they often lose their sense of taste as well.

Parts are:

  1. The spinal cord at all levels,
  2. The reticular substance of the medulla, pons, and mesencephalon,
  3. The cerebellum,
  4. The thalamus,
  5. Some sensory areas of cerebral cortex.

Motor Axis

Multiple motor area within central nervous system constitutes the motor axis.

Parts are:

  1. The spinal cord,
  2. The reticular substance of the medulla pons and mesencephalon,
  3. The basal ganglia,
  4. The cerebellum,
  5. The motor area of cortex.