QS Study

Parts of the Uterus

The uterus is a secondary sex organ. It is an organ of the female reproductive system. Secondary sex organs are components of the reproductive tract that mature during puberty under the influence of sex hormones produced from primary sex organs. It’s shaped like an upside-down pear and has thick walls. Its major role is to abode and nurtures a fetus until it’s prepared for birth.

The uterus is the largest female genital organ. Its parts are –

  1. A body of the uterus.
  2. Cervix of the uterus.

Fig: Parts of the Uterus

(A) A body of the uterus: The body has –

(i) A fundus – Top of the uterus, above the entry point of the uterine tubes.

(ii) The body proper – Usual site for implantation of the blastocyst.

(B) The cervix of the uterus: Lower part of uterus linking it with the vagina. This part is structurally and functionally different from the rest of the uterus.

(i) The vaginal part,

(ii) The supravaginal (uterine) part.