QS Study

Mechanism of Fibrinolysis

Fibrinolysis is the process by which fibrin threads are liquefied or dissolved by profibrinolysin. It is a process that prevents blood clots from growing and becoming problematic. This procedure has two types: primary fibrinolysis and secondary fibrinolysis. The primary category is a usual body procedure, whereas secondary fibrinolysis is the collapse of clots due to a medicine, a medical disorder, or some other cause.


Plasma protein contains a globin called plasminogen or profibrinolysin. Its activated form is plasmin (Fibrinolysin), Plasmin is responsible for fibrinolysis or lysis of blood clot.

When a clot is formed, a large amount of plasminogen is trapped in the clot along with other plasma protein. After a day or later it is activated by tissue plasmalogen activator (t – PA), an activator released by damaged tissue or vascular endothelium. This plasmin then digests fibrin fibers as well as fibrinogen, prothrombin, Factor V, VIII and XII and transfer then bite soluble polypeptide.

Fig: Fibrinolysis Pathway

In this way, plasmin removes the clot in many small vessels.

  • Plasminogen – (t-PA)
  • Plasmin
  • Fibrin, Fibrinogen
  • Prothrombin, Factor V, VIII, and XII.
  • Soluble polypeptide


  • Re-open the clotted blood vessel.
  • Allows clearing of blood vessels
  • Remove very minute clot from peripheral vessels.