QS Study

Definition –

Anatomically: Border structures around the basal region of the cerebrum are called the limbic system.

Physiologically: an Entire neuronal circuit that controls emotional behavior and motivational drives are called the limbic system.

The primary structures within the limbic system include the amygdala, hippocampus, thalamus, hypothalamus, basal ganglia, and cingulate gyrus. It is a network of structures lo­cated beneath the cerebral cortex. This system is vital because it controls some behaviors that are necessary for the life of all mammals. Damage to various areas of the limbic system disturbs many behaviors related to motivation and emotion. It appears to be primarily responsible for our emotional life and has a lot to do with the formation of memories.

Parts of the Limbic system –

  • Hypothalamus, (Gyre)
  • Orbitofrontal, (Gyre)
  • Subcallosal, (Gyre)
  • Cingulate, (Gyre)
  • Parahippocampal, (Gyre)
  • Uncus,
  • Hippocampus,
  • Amygdaloid nucleus,
  • Anterior nuclei of the thalamus,
  • Septum area,
  • Para olfactory area,
  • Portions of basal ganglia.

Fig: Limbic system, showing the key position of the hypothalamus


  • Controls emotional behavior and motivational drive.
  • Hippocampus helps in a learning process and translates short-term memory into long-term memory.
  • Amygdaloid is responsible for appropriate person behavior.
  • Controls vegetative and endocrine functions.
  • Controls sexual behavior.
  • It mediates all aspects of emotion and motivational functioning such as; the desire for food, feelings of anger, fear, pain, pleasure and sexual desire.
Related Study: