QS Study

The anterior triangle is a region located at the front of the neck. The contents of the anterior triangle include muscles, nerves, arteries, veins, and lymph nodes. It is situated on every side of the neck and is a large triangular space, with its apex pointed downwards and base pointed upwards and in front of sternocleidomastoid.

Subdivision of anterior triangle:

The alacrity triangle is subdivided by the digastric muscle and the superior belly of the omohyoid into:

  • Submental triangle,
  • Digastric triangle,
  • Carotid triangle,
  • Muscular triangle.

Subdivisions of Anterior Triangle 1

Fig: Subdivisions of Anterior Triangle

(1) Submental Triangle: It contains the submental lymph nodes, which filter lymph draining from the floor of the mouth and parts of the tongue. It is bounded:

  • Inferiorly – hyoid bone.
  • Medially – midline of the neck.
  • Laterally – anterior belly of the digastrics

(2) Digastric triangle: It contains the submandibular gland (salivary), and lymph nodes. The boundaries of the submandibular triangle are:

  • Superiorly – the body of the mandible.
  • Anteriorly – anterior belly of the digastric muscle.
  • Posteriorly – posterior belly of the digastric muscle.

(3) Carotid Triangle: The carotid triangle of the neck has the following boundaries:

  • Superior – posterior belly of the digastric muscle.
  • Lateral – medial border of the sternocleidomastoid muscle.
  • Inferior – superior belly of the omohyoid muscle.

(4) Muscular Triangle: It contains some muscles and organs – the infrahyoid muscles, the pharynx, and the thyroid, parathyroid glands. The boundaries of the muscular triangle are:

  • Superiorly – hyoid bone.
  • Medially – imaginary midline of the neck.
  • Supero-laterally – superior belly of the omohyoid muscle.
  • Infero-laterally – an inferior portion of the sternocleidomastoid muscle.
Related Study: