QS Study

The cerebellum is one of the most special parts of the brain due to its unique form and location. It is the part of the brain involved in the higher levels of thinking and action. It is involved in the control of voluntary and involuntary movement as well as balance. The cerebellum is located behind the top part of the brain stem and is made of two hemispheres.

It is the area found at the back and bottom of the brain and behind the brainstem.

Anatomical parts of the cerebellum: The cerebellum consists of two cerebellar hemispheres that are united to each other through a median vermin. It is located at the back of the brain, immediately inferior to the occipital and temporal lobes, and within the posterior cranial fossa.

Lobes: Each hemisphere is divided into three lobes. These lobes are divided by two fissures – the primary fissure and posterolateral fissure.

  • Anterior lobe.
  • Middle lobe.
  • Flocculonodular lobe.

Fissures: The cerebellum is subdivided into numerous small parts by 3 fissures:

  • Horizontal fissure.
  • Primary fissure.
  • Posterolateral fissure.

Anatomical Parts of Cerebellum 1

Fig: Anatomical Parts of Cerebellum

Parts of the vermis: It is the most medal portion of the cerebellum; associated with the fastigial nucleus, concerned with the regulation of muscle tone for posture and locomotion.

  • Lingula
  • Central lobule
  • Culmen
  • Declive
  • Folium
  • Tuber
  • Pyramid
  • Uvula
  • Nodule

Subdivision of the cerebellar hemispheres: Each of the nine vermis lobules is associated in both sides with two cerebellar hemisphere lobules.

  • Ala
  • Quadrangular lobule.
  • Simple lobule.
  • Superior semilunar lobule.
  • Inferior semilunar lobule.
  • Biventral lobule.
  • Tonsil.
  • Flocculus.

Nuclei of Cerebellum:

Medial to lateral – (4 pairs)

  1. Nucleus fastigius
  2. Nucleus globosus.
  3. Nucleus emboliform.
  4. Nucleus dentatus.
Related Study: