Different Parts of Flower - QS Study
QS Study

The specially modified shoot which performs the sexual reproduction of a plant, is known as flower. After pollination occurs, the flower develops seeds. Flowers are an important part of the reproductive system of plants.

Different parts of flower: A typical flower comprises of four parts;

i) Calyx: calyx is the green colored part beneath the petals in order to protect rising buds.

ii) Corolla: The brightly colored part which attracts the pollinating agent.

iii) Androecium: The male reproductive organ consists of two parts namely: anther and filament which are usually yellow in color.

iv) Gynoecium: Gynoecium represents the female reproductive organ of a flower. It is comprised of three parts- stigma, style, and ovary which are collectively known as pistil.

Out of the four parts of a complete flower, the first two are the accessory parts while the last two are essential parts.

Androecium and Gynoecium are the essential parts of a flower because; sexual reproduction is not possible without their active participation.

Parts of flower in comprehensive:

  • Peduncle: The stalk of a flower.
  • Sepal: The outer parts of the flower that enclose a developing bud.
  • Petal: The parts of a flower that are often conspicuously colored.
  • Stamen: The pollen producing part of a flower, usually with a slender filament supporting the anther.
  • Pistil: The ovule producing part of a flower.
  • Stigma: The part of the pistil where pollen germinates.
  • Ovary: The enlarged basal portion of the pistil where ovules are produced.